IWGA AotY 2017 Award

IWGA AotY 2017 Award

The candidates for The World Games Athlete of the Year 2017 have now been published and online voting has opened.

21 athletes, all of whom competed at The World Games last summer, are now waiting for their fans to support them in the one competition they cannot win by themselves: the Athlete of the Year vote.

The voting continues until 31 January. However on 15 January, only the best 9 candidates by that date will go forward to the final round of voting. Voters can register one vote per day throughout the voting period.

Check out the candidates and vote here.

Last year, Muaythai fighter Sofia Olofsson (Sweden) won the title Athlete of the Year with 15,816 votes. She received her award in an award ceremony at the SportAccord Convention. This year a big increase in overall votes is anticipated, following The World Games 2017 in Wroclaw.