Booklet: History of the IWGA

Booklet: History of the IWGA

The International World Games Association (IWGA) celebrated its 40th anniversary on 21 May 2020. To mark this occasion, a booklet has been prepared of the history of the organisation – from 1980 to 2020.

The booklet presents the IWGA’s history extensively, as well as each edition in more detail. You can also find out when the current member federations have become IWGA members, and which members there have been in the early years.

You can browse the newly published booklet here.

 The World Games is a multi-sport event staged every four years by the International World Games Association under the patronage of the International Olympic Committee. The 11th edition of The World Games will be held in Birmingham, Alabama, USA, 7-17 July 2022. 3,600 athletes from over 30 sports and 100 countries will take part in The World Games.

More news



Subscribe to the IWGA newsletter

Subscribe now.
IOC logo