01 September 2016

13 best nations in WOC qualified for World Games 2017

The International World Games Association, IWGA, has allocated spaces for a total of 40 male and 40 female runners to the IOF. The thirteen best nations in the Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2016, will have the right to enter up to 2 + 2 runners in the World Games in Wrocław, Poland 2017.

The International World Games Association (IWGA) has agreed to include three orienteering events in the programme of The World Games 2017 in Wrocław, Poland. There will be two individual events for men and women, a Sprint race and a Middle Distance race, as well as a Sprint Relay event.

The IWGA has allocated spaces for a total of 40 male and 40 female runners to the IOF. The host Federation (Poland) shall have the right to enter 2 + 2 runners and the same for the 13 best nations in WOC.

In addition, the 2016 World Champions in Sprint Distance, Middle Distance and Long Distance shall have a personal place in addition to their nation’s allocation. These runners are:

  • Women: Tove Alexandersson (SWE), Maja Alm (DEN)
  • Men: Matthias Kyburz (SUI), Olav Lundanes (NOR), Jerker Lysell (SWE)

The nations are ranked using results from two individual format finals (Sprint and Middle Distance) and one team event (Sprint Relay). As the affected WOC 2016 events have finished, we can now declare, that these 13 best nations (Poland excluded) are as follows: Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Great Britain, Hungary, Norway, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine.

The IOF is authorised to allocate the remaining places up to the total of 40 + 40 runners, with a maximum of 3 + 3 per country not counting the personal World Champion places. The IOF will allocate a place for a minimum of 1 man and 1 woman from each of the IOF regions (Africa, Asia, North America, Oceania, and South America) not having qualified a runner for the World Games and may allocate any remaining places at its discretion.

This extra allocation is expected to be made by 31 December 2016. The Member Federations affected will be contacted individually by the IOF Office.



Contact | Legal | All rights reserved :: IWGA 2011-2012 | Code & Design by JayKay-Design S.C.