Sofia Olofsson in the Fast Lane - 5 days to go

banner homepage 595x229 copy copy copy

Sofia Olofsson in the Fast Lane

Five days left to go to vote for the IWGA Athlete of the Year! Until 31st January, supporters can still support their favourite athlete or team by participating in the voting on the website:

Looking at the preliminary results after nearly four weeks of voting, Sofia Olofsson, the Muaythai fighter from Sweden, is still leading with 7,171 votes. The World Champion and qualifier for The World Games 2017 in Wroclaw, Poland is running in the fast lane. She has achieved a huge lead on entering the final stretch.  Second is Marcin Dzieński from Poland (Sport Climbing), who has collected 4,071 votes. The third place currently goes to the US Powerlifter Ray Williams (3,740 votes). It’s a head-to-head race between the athletes from the USA and Poland.

Marcin Dzieński overtook his competitor on Sunday, but on Tuesday Ray Willams came back and lifted himself onto rank two. And now it’s again Marcin Dzieński who has climbed into second place and is chasing Sofia Olofsson on the final stretch of the race.  

The winner will be announced after the public vote has closed on 31st January. A trophy will be awarded in cooperation with the winner’s Federation.

All results are displayed on the IWGA website.

More news


IWGA Partner USports logo VIP SportsTravel logo VIP SportsTravel logo

Subscribe to the IWGA newsletter

IOC logo