Korfball participants for Championship 2015 confirmed

IKF World Korfball Championship 2015 participants confirmed

Following completion of the four continental qualification events in 2014, all countries that have qualified for the IKF World Korfball Championship 2015 are now known.

Qualification criteria were published by the IKF early in 2014, itemising that 16 countries would participate in the IKF World Korfball Championship (IKF WKC), to be held from 29 October to 8 November 2015 in Belgium.

The 16 countries that have achieved qualification are as follows.

From the IKF European Korfball Championship played in Maia, Portugal from 25 October to 2 November, the first ten ranked countries:

Belgium, Catalonia, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Hungary, The Netherlands (reigning champion), Poland, Portugal and Russia.

From the IKF Asia Oceania Korfball Championship played in Kowloon, Hong Kong from 17-23 August, the first three ranked Asian countries: China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong and the first ranked Oceania country: Australia

From the IKF All-Africa Korfball Championship played in Lusaka, Zambia from 6-8 August, the champion country: South Africa

From the IKF Pan American Korfball Championship played in Americana, Brazil from 31 January to 2 February, the champion country: Brazil

Following the last IKF World Korfball Championship held in China in 2011, The Netherlands is the reigning champion. Brazil will participate in the IKF WKC 2015 for the first time.

For further information regarding the History of the IKF World Korfball Championship please refer to the IKF website, www.korfball.org, go to the ‘Documents’ tab and searching under ‘Event Booklets’ for the booklet ‘IKF World Korfball Championship.’

More news



Subscribe to the IWGA newsletter

Subscribe now.
IOC logo