TWG Channel background

IWGA Athlete of the Year 2017 Award

Finswimming, Valeriya Baranovskaya (RUS)

Double World Games Champion from 2013, Valeria Baranovskaya answered the expectations in 2017 and won gold in both Relay 4x100 m and, with a World Record, in 200 m Finswimming. She is now 4 times The World Games Champion, 20 times World Champion and 15 times European Champion.

4 December, 2017

Event Information

Everywhere, World
January 1 - January 31, 2018

21 athletes, all of whom competed at The World Games last summer, are waiting for their fans to support them in the one competition they cannot win by themselves: the Athlete of the Year vote.

The voting continues until 31 January. However on 15 January, only the best 9 candidates by that date will go forward to the final round of voting. Voters can register one vote per day throughout the voting period.

Related Events

All events


Award Winner



Subscribe to the IWGA newsletter

Subscribe now.
IOC logo